

Eastern Kentucky Concentrated Employment Program, Inc. Board of Directors Eastern Kentucky Workforce Innovation Board (EKWIB) Meeting Minutes, December 8, 2022 Joint Meeting with the EKCEP Board of Directors

Minutes

The Eastern Kentucky Workforce Innovation Board (EKWIB) and the EKCEP Board of Directors had their quarterly meeting jointly on Thursday, December 8, 2022. The meeting was in-person at 412 Roy Campbell Drive Hazard, KY.

EKWIB's Board Chair, Howard Blackburn called the meeting to order.

Approval of Minutes

Howard Blackburn asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the EKWIB September 2022 board meetings, which had previously been distributed via email. Paul Dole made the motion to approve the minutes. Keith Gabbard seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed.

The EKCEP BOD did not have a quorum and the September 2022 board minutes were not voted on.

Welcome new EKWIB Members

Rusty Justice replacing Howard Blackburn – Business & Industry Representative

Colby Kirk replacing Chuck Sexton – Economic Development Representative

Ava McKenzie replacing Derek Lewis – Business & Industry Representative

Tanelle Sawyer replacing Diana Jarboe – Apprenticeship Representative

Retirement News

Howard Blackburn was given a plaque and thanked for his years of service on the EKWIB.

Executive Board Meeting

Jeff Whitehead discussed the joint meeting of the BOD and the EKWIB Executive Committees that was held on November 29, 2022 via zoom. The meeting was conducted to discuss the process of replacing Jeff Whitehead, Executive Director of EKCEP. Sonya Bergman discussed the meeting and the process that was agreed upon per the By-Laws. A "Search Committee" will consist of both BOD and EKWIB Executive Committee members. The Search Committee will review qualified candidates resumes, conduct interviews and bring their recommendation to the March 2023 board meeting. The job opening will be posted December 9, 2022.

Vic Adams made the motion to accept the recommendations made by the Executive Committee on the hiring process. Sonya Bergman seconded the motion. All voted in favor, none opposed.

Election for Chairperson of EKWIB

Jeff Whitehead told the group that due to Howard Blackburn retiring in December 2022 the EKWIB would need to elect a new EKWIB Chairperson. Jeff Whitehead stated an email would be sent to each EKWIB board member detailing the process. One requirement to serve as Chairperson of the EKWIB, is the board member must be a representative of the private sector.

<u>Other</u>

A retirement plaque was presented to Jeff Whitehead for his years of service.

Featured Panelists

Robert Roark – Project Director, Full-Service Community Schools

Jim Stewart – Tallent Foundation

Dreama Gentry - Executive Director, Partners for Rural Impact

Barbara Gay – Contractor – SITE

Lesa Vanderpool – Program Administrator, Ky Opioid Response Effort

Jason Hutchinson – Executive Director – Career Development Office

Each panelist discussed their area of expertise and how it relates to EKCEP's mission.

Comments:

Howard Blackburn asked the group if they had any questions or comments. Several attendees congratulated Jeff Whitehead on his upcoming retirement.

<u>Adjourned</u>

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 4:00 p.m.

Attendees

EKWIB Members - 24 Members, 18 present, a quorum was determined.

- 1. Betsy Clemons
- 2. Brent Sturgill
- 3. Colby Kirk Jeffery Justice (Proxy)
- 4. Fran Feltner
- 5. Howard Blackburn
- 6. Keith Gabbard
- 7. Kim Mullins (Combs)
- 8. Merwether Hall
- 9. Mike Lasslo
- 10. Paul Dole
- 11. Paul Patton
- 12. Rusty Justice JJ Walker (Proxy)
- 13. Sonya Bergman
- 14. Tanelle Sawyer Keila Miller (Proxy)
- 15. Tracey Smith
- 16. Trina Allen
- 17. Vic Adams
- 18. Vince Minix

EKCEP BOD Members (23 Members - No Quorum)

- 1. Chuck Caudill
- 2. Craig Hamilton Mike Howell (Proxy)
- 3. Gilbert Holland
- 4. Jamie Brunk
- 5. Luther Blanton Jill Blevins (Proxy)
- 6. Phyllis Lawson
- 7. Polly Arnold Deaton Hall (Proxy)
- 8. Rick King Eric Sims (Proxy)
- 9. Shane Gabbard
- 10. Susan Dunaway

11. Walter Nixon - Abby Little (Proxy)

Panelists

- 1. Lesa Vanderpool
- 2. Dreama Gentry
- 3. Robert Roark
- 4. Jim Stewart
- 5. Jason Hutchinson
- 6. Barb Smith (Jones/Gay) EKCEP Contractor

<u>Guests</u>

- 1. Kitty Stewart
- 2. Aimen Couch
- 3. Beth Spencer
- 4. Bonnie Conn
- 5. Wanda Thacker
- 6. David Carroll
- 7. Allison Brown
- 8. Brian Fields
- 9. Donna Pace
- 10. Becky Miller
- 11. Tonia Prewitt
- 12. Hassain Davis
- 13. Ben Collier
- 14. Chris Chaney
- 15. Andrea Begley

EKCEP Staff

- 1. Jeff Whitehead
- 2. Michael Cornett
- 3. Bridget Back
- 4. Sharon Poff
- 5. Trish Adams
- 6. Travis Winkler
- 7. Cris Ritchie
- 8. Tesa Turner
- 9. Ernie Weems
- 10. Melissa Williams
- 11. Jimmie Wilson
- 12. Del Stephens
- 13. Lisa Meade
- 14. Erin Winkler
- 15. Betty Hays

16. Katelyn Dunn 17. Tracie Spencer 18. Amy Nunn 19. Carla Gabbard